The First Assay
Friday Drill Digest
TSX · TSX-V · CSE · NYSE-A · Nasdaq  ·  September 11, 2026  ·  catch-up: Sept 4–11
53 companies
248 qualifying holes
11 jurisdictions

This is a catch-up issue: no digest went out Monday to Thursday (Labour Day Monday, then four days of missed runs), so it covers 62 releases read in full from the afternoon of Sept 4 through this morning — 53 companies cleared the screen across 11 jurisdictions, with 248 qualifying intercepts archived. The week belonged to copper: Talon's 46 m of massive sulphide at Tamarack (54.78% CuEq), Aldebaran's kilometre-plus porphyry holes at Altar, Osisko Metals' 256 m @ 0.85% Cu out-of-pit at Gaspé, Marimaca's 216 m @ 1.0% Cu at Pampa Medina, and Kodiak's best-ever Ketchan hole all landed in the same four days. Gold answered with Nuvau's 138.87 g/t over 4.45 m at Matagami, Founders' 27 m @ 20.38 g/t first step-out in Suriname, Wesdome's 57 m @ 7.7 g/t at Kiena Deep and Hemlo's 3 m @ 89.9 g/t beside active stopes; silver was carried by Hycroft's 30.5 m @ 781 g/t Ag at Vortex. Coverage caveat: JMN's listing only paginates in-browser and the browser was Cloudflare-blocked, so Sept 8–9 enumeration was search-based and may be incomplete; nothing that was enumerated went unread.

⚑ Hole of the Day
▾ Deep · From 753m Extension · Step-out USA · Stable Magmatic Ni-Cu sulphide
Talon Metals TLO TSX · C$1,740M
Tamarack – Vault Zone, Minnesota, USA
25TK0562A: 46.43m of 54.78% CuEq* from 753m
13.37% Ni · 16.54% Cu · 0.10% Co · 7.85 g/t Pd · 14.49 g/t Pt · 8.56 g/t Au
incl. 26.22m of 60.41% CuEq from 758m
GT
768 %·m Cu (2,544 CuEq)
Exceptional
AuEq·m
3,388
Cu basis (PR CuEq)
GT/MCap
0.44×
(Cu native · 1.46× CuEq)
Partner
Rio Tinto JV (51%)
Talon has now put chemistry on the intercept it pre-announced from core in August: 46.43 m grading 13.37% Ni, 16.54% Cu, 0.10% Co, 7.85 g/t Pd, 14.49 g/t Pt and 8.56 g/t Au, quoted as 54.78% CuEq or 27.39% NiEq at deliberately conservative prices (Ni $8/lb, Cu $4/lb, Au $2,000/oz). On the native-copper basis the sheet uses, that is a GT of 768 %·m; on the PR's CuEq it is ~2,544 %·m — either way the best copper result in the archive over the past 30 days by a wide margin (Irruptive's 525 CuEq·m and Pecoy's 273 were the prior marks). It is a ~50 m step-out from the Vault Zone discovery hole, BHEM-targeted, at 753–799 m downhole: an underground proposition, in a Minnesota JV with Rio Tinto where Talon holds 51%. Massive sulphide at these tenors is what turns a disseminated Ni-Cu system into a high-margin mine, and the footwall chalcocite (4.6 m @ 7.80% CuEq) says the system does not stop at the massive-sulphide contact. 1.46× GT/MCap on a C$1.7B company is unusual — most Exceptional holes this week on companies that size (Osisko 0.15×, Marimaca 0.19×, Wesdome 0.09×) do not move the value needle the way this one does. Watch for lateral step-outs at the 778-m level and whether Vault stays open at depth.
* Drilled widths — true width not determined pending geological modelling.
GT/MCap Spotlight — Top 5
Au and Cu metrics are on different price bases — not directly comparable across metals.
NTH CS-26-140W1 Ag 400.26×
ZAC CRI-2026-043 Ag 47.76×
ZAC CRI-2026-045 Ag 43.98×
ZAC CRI-2026-044 Ag 43.66×
GRSL SMS26-12 Ag 20.45×
The raw GT/MCap table is dominated by silver micro-caps and is not comparable to the gold and copper names: Nord Precious Metals' 400× is 2.0 m of 4,683 g/t Ag on a C$23M company (cross-metal, narrow, HOTD-excluded), and Zacatecas Silver's 44–48× and GR Silver's 13–20× are the same unit-scale artifact. Among clean Au/Cu ratios the leaders are Nuvau (NMC) at 11.6× on the 618 g/t·m bonanza hit, American Pacific (USGD) at ~5.7× for 30.8 m @ 7.40 g/t Au plus Cu on a ~C$40M cap, then Aldebaran (ALDE) at 1.95×, Kodiak (KDK) at 1.82× and Talon at 0.44× native / 1.46× CuEq.
◉ From depth ≤200m (shallow)  ·  ⚠ High jurisdiction risk  ·  ~ Moderate jurisdiction risk  ·  ✓ True width stated  ·  ★ HOTD
Today's Qualifying Intercepts — Top 10 of 248
Headline table sorted Au → Ag → Cu, GT descending, max 3 rows per company; "including" sub-intervals excluded here but archived. The copper and silver names — Talon, Aldebaran, Osisko, Marimaca, Kodiak, Koryx, Hot Chili, Panoro, Oroco, DPM, Hycroft, GR Silver, Nord — are in the full sheet.
Rating Company Metal Hole m Grade GT AuEq·m GT/MCap
Exceptional Nuvau MineralsNMC AuOrogenic TH-26-08* 4.45 138.87 Au g/t 618 618.0 11.60
Exceptional Founders MetalsFDR AuOrogenic FR251 ✓ 27 20.38 Au g/t 550 550.3 0.77
Exceptional Wesdome Gold MinesWDO AuOrogenic N134-7207* 57.2 7.7 Au g/t 440 440.4 0.09
Exceptional Hemlo Mining CorpHMMC Au 6702608 ✓ 3 89.89 Au g/t 270 269.7 0.11
Exceptional American Pacific MiningUSGD AuSkarn M26C-02* 30.8 7.40 Au g/t 228 242.9 5.70
Exceptional Sitka GoldSIG Au DDRCRG-26-071* 256.9 0.84 Au g/t 216 215.8 0.47
Great Scottie ResourcesSCOT AuOrogenic SR26-492* 18 9.7 Au g/t 175 175.9 0.74
Great Sitka GoldSIG Au DDRCRG-26-061* 322 0.50 Au g/t 161 161.0 0.35
Great Gold X2 MiningAUXX AuOrogenic MQD-26-474 ✓ 173 0.89 Au g/t 154 154.0 0.16
Great Hemlo Mining CorpHMMC Au 6702632 ✓ 10 14.81 Au g/t 148 148.1 0.06
↗ View all 248 intercepts in Google Sheets +238 not shown: HYMC H26D-6090 Exce 8.67×, NTH CS-26-140W1 Exce 400.26×, GRSL SMS26-12 Grea 20.45×, AG LUZ26X-02 Grea 0.25×, ALDE ALD-26-267 Exce 1.95×, TLO 25TK0562A Exce 0.44×, ZAC CRI-2026-043 Good 47.76×, FDR FR251 Exce 0.60×, APXC RIFT26-019 Grea 2.80×, DEF DDSA-26-91A Good 2.94×, USGD M26C-02 Exce 5.60×, OM 30-1228 Exce 0.15×, MARI SPRD-15 Exce 0.19×, SIG DDRCRG-26-071 Grea 0.39×, and 39 more companies
Near-Miss
Near-miss Green Bridge MetalsGRBM Cu TS26-004a (incl.)* 62 0.29 Cu % 18.0 23.9 0.91 (Cu)
Near-miss Juggernaut ExplorationJUGR Au BO-26-13 ✓ 8.15 0.97 Au g/t 7.9 7.9 0.16
Near-miss Tocvan VenturesTOC Au JES-26-163 ✓ 16.65 0.44 Au g/t 7.3 8.6 0.11
Near-miss Tocvan VenturesTOC Au JES-26-162 ✓ 10.68 0.43 Au g/t 4.6 5.4 0.07
Near-miss Formation MetalsFOMO AuOrogenic N2-26-15A ✓ 2.7 3.37 Au g/t 9.1 9.1 0.18
Near-miss Defiance SilverDEF AgEpithermal DDSA-26-89 ✓ 2.75 118.94 Ag g/t 327 3.4 4.24 (Ag)
Near-miss Defiance SilverDEF AgEpithermal DDSA-26-91A ✓ 1.4 221 Ag g/t 309 3.4 4.01 (Ag)
Near-miss Riverside ResourcesRRI AuCRD UND26-015* 14.6 0.19 Au g/t 2.8 6.6 0.07
Near-miss Riverside ResourcesRRI AuCRD UND26-014* 9.1 0.34 Au g/t 3.1 6.9 0.07
Near-miss Canuc ResourcesCDA AuIOCG SM-26-151 ✓ 8 1.21 Au g/t 9.7 9.7 0.36
Near-miss Bold VenturesBOL AuOrogenic WC-26-03* 2.28 3.96 Au g/t 9.0 9.0 1.32
Near-misses are ≥50% of the Good threshold; several are low-grade halos or narrow sub-intervals of holes that qualify elsewhere.
✓ True width stated in PR  ·  * Drilled width — TW not determined  ·  ◉ From ≤200m (shallow)
⚠ High jurisdiction risk  ·  ~ Moderate jurisdiction risk
GT thresholds — Au: Good >10, Great >50, Exceptional >200 g/t·m  ·  Ag: Good >500, Great >2,000, Exceptional >10,000 g/t·m  ·  Cu: Good >20, Great >40, Exceptional >150 %·m  ·  Sb: Good >5, Great >20 %·m  ·  WO₃: Good >1, Great >5, Exceptional >20 %·m (through-cycle APT basis)  ·  TREO: Good >50, Great >200, Exceptional >500 %·m
AuEq: Au $3,200/oz · Ag $33/oz · Cu $13,700/t · APT $3,300/mtu · NdPr $70/kg · GT/MCap uses C$ mkt cap at September 11, 2026 (USD caps ×1.36)
REE AuEq requires NdPr% disclosure; "N/A" if basket not specified. Deposit type shown under metal symbol.
⚡ Radiometrics — Assays Pending
Downhole gamma and scintillometer readings — not assays. Counts-per-second is instrument-specific and non-linear; it is not grade, and these holes are not screened, rated, or archived. Chemical assays typically follow in 3–8 weeks and are screened normally when they land.
ATHA Energy SASK TSX-V · ~C$405M Extension · Step-out Canada · Stable
Angilak – RIB North, Nunavut · basement-hosted, structurally controlled
RIBN-DD-011: 20.0 m composite over 15 zones (494.0–700.5 m),
incl. 1.5 m averaging 8,453 cps, peak 26,680 cps (661.5–663.0 m)
Composite at ATHA's >300 cps cutoff over 0.1 m · Mount Sopris 40TGU-1000 triple gamma · ~250 m NE step-out from RIBN-DD-001 · assays pending (samples to SRC, timing not stated)
ATHA's own conventions: >300 cps ≈ >0.01% U₃O₈ on their probe (cutoff lowered from 500 cps after 2024–25 assays); "high-grade" defined as >10,000 cps. By that calibration the 20 m composite shell alone is ~0.2 %·m-equivalent — marginal against the 0.15 Good bar — and the story is the 1.3 m of >10,000 cps, whose grade is unknown until assays. Not described as off-scale. Continuity now claimed over 1.45 km from 300 m.
ATHA Energy SASK TSX-V · ~C$405M Extension · Step-out
Angilak – RIB North, Nunavut
RIBN-DD-014: 7.0 m composite over 6 zones (237.0–573.0 m),
incl. 1.5 m averaging 4,275 cps, peak 20,138 cps (571.5–573.0 m)
~430 m SW step-out from DD-001 · same probe and >300 cps convention · assays pending
Not Screened
SAGA Metals (SAGA · TSX-V · ~C$48M) — Radar – Trapper Zone, Labrador. Best intercept: 128 m of 46.11% Fe2O3, 6.79% TiO2, 0.326% V2O5 (R-0065). Fe-Ti-V oxide — no GT threshold or AuEq conversion in the current framework.

Perseverance Metals (PMI · TSX-V · C$29M) — Voyageur, Michigan. Best intercept: visual 3–8% magmatic sulphides in basal peridotite, 4 holes. Visuals/pXRF only — Ni-Cu assays pending; stock +56% on the day.

Inflection Resources (AUCU · CSE · C$24M) — Trangie, NSW (AngloGold earn-in). Best intercept: none new — 92 air-core holes completed. Programme update; all assays pending.

Brixton Metals (BBB · TSX-V · n/a) — Langis, Ontario. Best intercept: 85 tailings holes averaging 61.7 g/t Ag. Tailings drilling, not in-situ rock — not screened (headline-only, article not opened).

North Arrow Minerals (NAR · TSX-V · n/a) — Kraaipan, Botswana. Best intercept: anomalous gold-in-bedrock beneath Kalahari sand. RC reconnaissance, anomalous only — no intervals (headline-only, article not opened).

Questcorp Mining (QQQ · CSE · C$14M) — La Union, Sonora. Best intercept: same UND26-014/015 holes as Riverside. Duplicate JV release — Riverside (RRI) rows carry the intercepts.

Globex Mining (GMX · TSX · C$124M) — Duquesne West, Quebec. Best intercept: same DQ26-52/53 holes as Emperor Metals. Optionor summary of Emperor (AUOZ) release — Emperor rows carry the intercepts.

Purepoint Uranium (PTU · TSX-V · C$28M) — Nova, Dorado JV, Saskatchewan. Best intercept: 0.3 m @ 1.65% U3O8 (screened, Good). Included in the sheet but flagged: single 0.3 m interval; the other eight winter holes were trace-grade.

Coverage notes — No issues were published Sept 7–10 (Labour Day Mon; runs did not execute Tue–Thu). JMN's listing shows only its first 30 items to a plain fetch and the in-app browser was blocked by Cloudflare, so Sept 4 (pm)–Sept 9 candidates were enumerated by search across JMN topic pages and a cached newsroom snapshot; late-Sept-8 and off-topic Sept 9 postings may be missing. Every enumerated release with numbers was read in full (62 of 64; Brixton and North Arrow deliberately not opened). Market caps marked approx in the sheet were sourced by web search where the JMN sidebar was unreachable; USD caps converted at 1.36 CAD.
THE FIRST ASSAY
thefirstassay.com
Au $3,200/oz · Ag $33/oz · Cu $13,700/t · APT $3,300/mtu
Not investment advice.
Archived: Google Sheets · Raw CSV also saved to Drive